projects

Ikea Rug Makeover: Painted Moroccan Pattern

I saw  some tutorials on pinterest on painting Ikea rugs with patterns and I decided to try one out! I picked up a rug from Ikea and decided to do a Moroccan pattern.

The rug I picked was the Morum rug in dark gray.  I wanted a flat woven rug so that my cat wouldn’t tear it up and I chose gray because I have a gray and white theme going in my room.  Once I had the rug, I got started right away.  I found a great stencil for the Moroccan pattern so I cut it out and got painting!

I used an acrylic paint and it worked great on the rug.  As you can see, I used one piece of paper for the pattern, which included the cutout and a separate piece that I had to place in the middle each time. I found this method to work pretty well, but it takes patience,especially if you have a large rug.

It took about an hour to complete those first few rows, but I got faster as I went along!  I painted the whole thing over one weekend and I like the way it turned out!

I’ve had the rug for about six months now and Lola hasn’t ruined it yet, so I definitely recommend the flatwoven rug for animal owners!

Here you can get a better idea of how it fits into my room.  Although it took a lot of time, I think it was completely worth it!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Ikea Rug Makeover: Painted Moroccan Pattern

  1. Nathalie says:

    Like it! I have the same rug and would like to do something similar, but the other DIY I saw were using the EGEBY rug. How is it aging? Is the paint peeling off?

Leave a comment