projects

DIY Cat Litter Box Furniture

I can’t wait to share this DIY project with you because it is the most practical project we have ever done. I know not everyone is a cat lover, but if you do have a cat, this post is a must-read!

I have a cat named Lola, who is the sweetest, coolest cat you’ve ever met.

Isn’t she cute?  Her only downside is that she is an indoor cat, which means that she takes care of her necessary bodily functions in a box inside my house.  I hate having a litter box out in the open because they are unattractive, messy and smelly.  I’ve always wanted to buy those fancy pet furniture litter box enclosures, but I couldn’t get myself to spend $150-$300 for a piece of furniture that doesn’t even go along with the rest of the decor in the house.

Adam had the great idea to make our own litter box furniture and I can’t express how glad I am to have it!  By doing it ourselves, we were able to save money and customize it exactly how we wanted to.   It was such an easy project and it is sooo nice to have the litter box hidden. No one ever even notices that it is there and it does a great job masking smells as well.

To make the litter box furniture, we bought a toy box from IKEA for around $80.  Compared to the pre-made litter box enclosures of the same size, $80 was a great deal!  I checked and it looks like the toy box we bought is no longer being sold.  However, I did some research and found this one that is comparable in size and even cheaper!  You can really use any size as long as it is tall enough to fit your cat (18-19″ seems to work) and big enough to fit a litter box.  The litter box that I put inside is just a standard uncovered box (19.5″ L X 15″ W X 5.5″ H).

All you have to do from there is cut an opening for your cat to get into the box.  We cut ours about 9.5″ wide and 7.5″ tall, which is plenty of room for Lola to fit through (and she isn’t the smallest of cats).  The bottom of the opening is about 5″ off the ground, which is great height for her to step into the box.

Decide where you will put the box, then choose the side you want to make the entrance on. Then, make your measurements, draw out the entrance and then cut it out using a jig saw.

Next, sand down the edges until they are smooth.  We also chose to paint it to match the other furniture in the room.

Then, just put the box together according the instructions and you’re done!  Here are some views of our final product!

Ignore the blanket on the right side of the box. Lola likes to lay there and I forgot to remove it for the picture!

Inside, I put down a mat near the entrance so Lola won’t track litter outside of the box. I also store the scoop, bags and air freshener inside the box.  Being able to lift the top so easily makes scooping the box simple and clean.

It is so convenient and it just looks like another piece of furniture in the room!  You’d never know there was a litter box inside unless you saw this:

I put it underneath a window and it’s the perfect place for Lola to look outside.  She loves it as much as I do!

That is Lola looking out the window and Lila (my past roommate’s cat) exploring around the box. If you are a cat owner and don’t have a place to hide your litter box, I can’t recommend this enough!

Standard

13 thoughts on “DIY Cat Litter Box Furniture

  1. Pingback: 27 Useful DIY Solutions For Hiding The Litter Box | Femour.com

  2. marquet says:

    Thank you so much for sharing I was trying to brain storm how and what I could alter. This totally helps. What kind of jigsaw do you have? The one I have is awful. I used it twice and the blade bent.

    • I’m glad you found it helpful! We appreciate you coming to our site! We borrowed a jigsaw to make this particular one and I don’t remember the brand, but We’ve had good luck with dewalt, Bosch and black and decker for other tools.

  3. Pingback: DIY Cat Litter Box Furniture | Fox Notions

  4. Angela says:

    Great idea! In the beginnings of making one for my kitten but wanted to know if you sealed or painted the inside of the box? If not, do you find the smell absorbing into the wood? Thanks in advance!

    • Thanks for the comment, Angela! We did paint the inside of the box, but we actually keep a mat under the litter box and we’ve found that it works great and the smell has not absorbed into the wood. Good luck with your your project if you decide to make one!

Leave a Reply

